“Our Calling”

photo586

Our calling is to delight in whatever reflects God in his glory,” writes Dan Allender in The Healing Path, “especially his sacrificial love. Only as we sit in a coffee shop and kibitz with the regulars, joining their joy and entering their sorrow, do we reverse the perception that Christians are those-who-are-against rather than those-who-love. If we are strange and unpredictable, but we fit and can’t be dismissed, then we have left our homes in Ur and are on the healing path. The path always leads to the center of the village. “ (p. 240).

Unfortunately, this “path” often leads solely and exclusively to a building that’s called a “church.” Nothing wrong with that, but what about those who’ll only darken the doors of a church about the same time pigs fly? As Allender points out, “Misiologists tell us that when a person comes to Christ, he loses most of his friendships with unbelievers within the first year. Seldom does conversion lead back into bars, coffee shops, and jazz clubs.”

Is this true? Has this been your experience? When? How? Where? Why?

I’ve noticed a variation on this theme in several “women’s ministry” paradigms within a number of churches, both large and small. As I’ve blogged about before, many “women’s ministry” programs focus solely on how to be a better wife, mother, Suzy Homemaker, June Cleaver, or Martha Stewart wannabe.

Nothing wrong with any of that, but is that God’s primary focus for those of us who number ourselves among “redeemed womanhood”?

4 Responses

  1. I see my “redeemed womanhood” as being focused centrally on Christ and my relationship with Him. My first goal is not to be a better wife, sister, daughter, friend, etc. I feel like these things should flow from the depth of my relationship with Him. The deeper I grow with Him, the more every other relationship in my life will be affected. Besides, how can I be a better anything if I’m not leaning wholly on Him. I’ve always found that when I try to be a better whatever, I usually end up being worse because I’m trying to do it with my own strength. Then I just burn out and it all goes down hill from there.

  2. I’ve never connected being a “better ___” with my faith. I just think that my faith needs to and does affect my decisions daily, when I let it do so. That is my daily decision for (or against) Christ. It doesn’t make me a better person or better Christian or better ___. There is no such think as being a better Christian. One either is a believer or not. And that comes from God’s grace through Christ’s actions, not from my own effort.

  3. Sometimes, however, being a better whatever ( with the Holy Spirit’s help) helps us to lead others to Christ as they come to see Christ in us.

Leave a Reply

